Earlier this month, I posted an article to the JD Edwards Advisor entitled “What is High Availability for JD Edwards EnterpriseOne?” At the end of the article, I promised that I would post a full slide deck on EnterpriseOne high availability options after I presented the slides at Collaborate. Now that Collaborate is over, I’m keeping my promise. Here is the full deck for your thoughtful review. (Please be patient…this is a big file!)

As you will see from the slide deck, I discuss many of the issues that an EnterpriseOne shop must consider if it wants to ensure application availability. Besides defining what high availability for EnterpriseOne is, the slides cover the following topics.

  • The advantages and challenges of an ACTIVE-PASSIVE high availability configuration
  • The advantages and challenges of an ACTIVE-ACTIVE configuration
  • The different ways to provide high availability at each EnterpriseOne layer
  • The roles that content switches, virtualization, and loading balancing play in high availability configurations
  • The questions you should ask to determine which high availability options are right for your organization.

I hope that this presentation gives you a starting point for developing your own high availability strategy. If you have questions about the slides or want to explore your high availability options, feel free to use the comment box on this page or contact me at the email address below.

Kevin Herrig is the CEO of Global Systems Integration (GSI), a technology consulting firm that specializes in providing Configurable Network Computing (CNC) and related services to JD Edwards OneWorld and EnterpriseOne customers. He welcomes your questions and thoughts at kherrig@gsi-solutions.com.